Feedback / Suggestions



In the early 20th century, under the British rule, Karnataka was the first state to produce, transmit and supply electricity to consumers. We have ample river water resources and Karnataka is the first to generate hydroelectricity. Soon after Independence, the government power department came into being. It was later converted to the Mysore State Electricity Board, which operated the power transmission and distribution works. HECP to look into hydroelectricity projects. Was assigned to. Between 1970-80, the Mysore State Electricity Board was renamed as Karnataka Electricity Board and the Hydro Power Corporation project was transformed into Karnataka Electricity Corporation.

In 1999, the Government of Karnataka enacted the Karnataka Electricity Improvement Act and restructured the Karnataka Electricity Board into a Karnataka Electricity Supply Corporation Limited and Vishweshwaraiah Corporation.

The Karnataka Electricity Regulatory Commission was set up to carry out activities such as development of the electricity sector, promoting competition within it, protecting the interests of consumers and the revision of electricity rates, transparency on subsidies, promotion of efficient and liberal environmental policies.

Karnataka is one of the few states that has implemented the above mentioned reforms in the electricity sector. The above measures have been taken to improve the fiscal situation of the State Electricity Board, to overcome the shortage and to provide reliable and quality electricity to the consumers.

buildingIn mid 2002, Karnataka Electricity Corporation Limited was re-split and Karnataka Electricity Corporation Limited and 4 Electricity Supply Companies were formed. Karnataka Electricity Supply Corporation Limited has been appointed for the purpose of power supply and 4 power companies - Bangalore Electricity Supply Company (BESCOM), Mangalore Electricity Supply Company (MESCOM), Hubli Electricity Company (HESCOM), Gulbarga Electricity Supply Company (Gescom). These are independent supply companies and have started their business from 01.06.2002. Mescom came into existence in nine districts, including Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Mandya, Hassan, Kodagu, Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Shimoga and Chikmagalur.The company owns only one zone in Mangalore, covering the entire region. It was again divided into 2 zones. Mangalore zone covers Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Shimoga and Chikkamagaluru districts while the other five districts are Mysore.

Back in March 2005, Mescom was split into 2 companies, Mescom and CESC. After partition, 26,222 sq.ft. Mescom owns the Mangalore Function and Custody Zone, which includes Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Shimoga and Chikkamagaluru districts with a population of 58 lakh. The Mysore Function and Custody Zone is given to Cesc, which comprises the remaining 5 districts.

Mangalore Zone has 4 Circle Offices in Mangalore, Udupi, Shimoga and Chikkamagaluru with 12 functioning and custody divisions respectively. Apart from the new corporate office in Mangalore, the number of staff in the operational and custody sector, circle, divisional and lower offices is behind the creation of the Escalas. The total number of staff at Mescom is 4111, with all officers and employees being 7015.

Escams are created as separate independent entities, with special responsibilities for reform and restructuring of programs. Counsel, VVN, VPN, VPN, VPN And electric ins pectorates have demonstrated a greater understanding of overall stage improvement through mutual co-operation and coordination, while Escams need to work with such companies. This is a net contributor to the state's economy.All the above companies / companies are fully independent government companies operating under the company specification. State Government and Regulatory Authority The Licenses and Orders issued by the Commission are in operation.

Last Updated: 28-04-2020 11:11 AM Updated By: Admin

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations.The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Terms & Conditions

  • Copyright Policy
  • Hyperlinking Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy Policy
  • Help
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Guidelines


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
Designed and Developed by: Center for e-Governance - Web Portal, Government of Karnataka ©2020, All Rights Reserved.